Feast Days


April 8, 2018

“At three o’clock, implore My mercy, especially for sinners; and, if only for a brief moment, immerse yourself in My Passion..." (Diary of St. Faustina, 1320)

3–4 p.m. Adoration, Prayers and Singing
4 –5 p.m. Reconciliation Service

The Divine Mercy Novena begins on Good Friday and may be prayed individually. Dedicated prayers can be found at http://www.ewtn.com/devotionals/mercy/novena.htm  St Matthew Church will pray the Novena in English right after the 8:15am Mass at the Adoration Chapel from Mon-Fri April 2-6.

“A las tres de la tarde, ruega por Mi misericordia, en especial por los pecadores y aunque sólo sea por un brevísimo momento, sumérgete en Mi Pasión..." (Diario de Sta Faustina # 1320)

La iglesia de San Mateo celebrara La Divina Misericordia
El Domingo Abril 8, 2018

3:00–4:00 Adoracion, Oraciones y cantos
4:00–5:00 Confesiones

Novena a la Divina Misericordia empieza el Viernes Santo. Pueden encontrar las oraciones en http://www.ewtn.com/spanish/prayers/nov-divinamis.htm

La iglesia de San Mateo rezara la Novena en Espanol inmediatamente despues de la Misa de las 6:00 pm en la Capilla de Adoracion, de lunes a viernes Abril 2-6.


Why do we have to attend Mass each Sunday?

Is missing Mass a mortal sin?

In addition to Sunday, the days to be observed as holy days of obligation in the Latin Rite dioceses of the United States of America, in conformity with canon 1246, are as follows:

January 1, the solemnity of Mary, Mother of God*;
Thursday of the Sixth Week of Easter, the solemnity of the Ascension**;
August 15, the solemnity of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary*;
November 1, the solemnity of All Saints;
December 8, the solemnity of the Immaculate Conception;
December 25, the solemnity of the Nativity of Our Lord Jesus Christ.

*Whenever January 1, the solemnity of Mary, Mother of God, or August 15, the solemnity of the Assumption, or November 1, the solemnity of All Saints, falls on a Saturday or on a Monday, the precept to attend Mass is abrogated.

**Observance of the Feast of the Ascension is transferred to the Seventh Sunday of Easter.

What's the difference between a solemnity, a feast day and a memorial?